HEAAE03 Biostatistics 5 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period III Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Advanced studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
Master's Degree Programme in Health Sciences
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

The course is divided into two parts: statistical inference (part 1) and questionnaire design (part 2). After part 1 the students have deepened their knowledge of statistical inference. They recognize the assumptions and limitations of selected statistical methods. They can perform the statistical methods with SPSS statistical program and interpret the results. After part 2 the students know the basics of designing a questionnaire, conducting a small survey, analyzing the survey data with SPSS statistical software and writing a report of the results.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Teachers

Anna-Maija Koivisto, Teacher responsible
Anna.M.Koivisto[├Ąt]uta.fi

Teaching

6-Sep-2018 – 23-Oct-2018
Lectures
Lectures and excercises
Thu 6-Sep-2018 at 13-15, A308
Mon 17-Sep-2018 at 11-13, F213
Tue 18-Sep-2018 at 13-15, F213
Tue 25-Sep-2018 at 13-17, F213
Tue 2-Oct-2018 at 14-18, F213
Tue 9-Oct-2018 at 13-17, A308
Tue 23-Oct-2018 at 12-14, F211AB
Exercises
Computer practicals
Thu 6-Sep-2018 at 15-17, Computer classroom ML71
Mon 17-Sep-2018 at 15-17, Computer classroom ML71
Tue 18-Sep-2018 at 15-17, Computer classroom ML71
Thu 27-Sep-2018 at 13-16, Computer classroom ML71
Thu 4-Oct-2018 at 13-16, Computer classroom ML71
Thu 11-Oct-2018 at 12-16, Computer classroom ML72

Further information

List of modes of study:

* Participation in classroom work

* Exercise(s)

* Assignment