NAM-IV Universal Basic Income 5 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period II Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Basic studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
  • NAM-IV Economics
    Participation in course work
North American Studies
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

After completing the course, the student

- Is familiar with recent and canonical academic discussion concerning Universal Basic Income (UBI)
- Can apply basic economic intuition to the study of social institutions
- Is able to form and evaluate arguments about the potential impact of UBI in economic terms

General description

In this course, students will be introduced to basic economic tools and practise applying them to the study of social institutions. Throughout the course, Universal Basic Income is used as an example of such institutions. Most assignments are completed in groups. No previous studies are required.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Teachers

Katri Sieberg, Teacher responsible
Katri.Sieberg[├Ąt]uta.fi
Veera Jokipalo, Teacher

Homepage URL

Teaching

10-Jan-2019 – 9-May-2019
Lectures
Thu 10-Jan-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 17-Jan-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 24-Jan-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3109
Thu 7-Feb-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 21-Feb-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 7-Mar-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 21-Mar-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 4-Apr-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Thu 25-Apr-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3110
Wed 8-May-2019 at 10-12, PinniB building B3109

Evaluation criteria

Evaluation: Grading will be based on a group paper and smaller, independent assignments completed during the course.

Further information

Final deadline for assignments: 23 May 2018