x !
Archived teaching schedules 2017–2018
You are browsing archived teaching schedule. Current teaching schedules can be found here.
GTS9 Social Constructionism 5 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period III Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Advanced studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
MDP in Global and Transnational Sociology
Sociology
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

After taking this course, students will be able to understand and to use ideas and methods connected with the social construction of reality. They will be expected to achieve a critical competence in assessing the light its analysis throws on global and transnational behaviour.

General description

This course is designed to familiarise students with conceptual tools relating to the sociology of knowledge that they need for studying topics such as global and transnational sociology. The course begins by examining varied respects in which human beings have observed connections between different cultures and the ways in which their inhabitants see the world; it then traces developments in the analysis of language and meaning that have led to specific understandings of social construction in the twentieth and twenty-first centuries.  In later stages of the course, students will be encouraged to collect and analyse examples from their own reading and experience.

Lectures + field trip to The Finnish Labour Museum Werstas.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Teachers

Ricca Edmondson, Teacher responsible
Leena Tervonen-Goncalves, Teacher responsible
Leena.Tervonen-Goncalves[├Ąt]uta.fi

Teaching

25-Sep-2017 – 12-Oct-2017
Lectures 22 hours
Mon 25-Sep-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Tue 26-Sep-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Wed 27-Sep-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Thu 28-Sep-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Tue 3-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Wed 4-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Thu 5-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Fri 6-Oct-2017, Field trip to The Finnish Labour Museum, exact schedule to be confirmed
Mon 9-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Tue 10-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Wed 11-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108
Thu 12-Oct-2017 at 16-18, Pinni B3108

Evaluation

Numeric 1-5.