x !
Archived teaching schedules 2017–2018
You are browsing archived teaching schedule. Current teaching schedules can be found here.
HEAAC03 Basic Epidemiology 5 ECTS
Implementation is also a part of open university teaching
Periods
Period I Period II Period III Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Advanced studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
MDP in Public and Global Health
Epidemiology
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

After completing this course, the student will
- understand the basic concepts, principles and approaches used in conducting epidemiologic research
- be able to assess study results by calculating and interpreting various measures of occurrence and associations
- recognize and be able to describe the main epidemiologic study types (cohort studies, case-control studies and randomised trials)
- understand the principles of critical evaluation of epidemiologic studies, including assessing the possibility of bias, confounding and other limitations in a study

General description

The course covers the scope of epidemiology, basic concepts and principles, and major study types.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Enrolment for Open University Studies

Teachers

Pekka Nuorti, Teacher responsible
Pekka.Nuorti[ät]uta.fi
Tarja Kinnunen, Teacher
Tarja.I.Kinnunen[ät]uta.fi

Teaching

4-Sep-2017 – 6-Oct-2017
Lectures
Lectures
Mon 4-Sep-2017 at 13-15, Arvo, F211AB
Wed 6-Sep-2017 at 10-12, Arvo, F211AB
Tue 12-Sep-2017 - 26-Sep-2017 weekly at 10-12, Arvo, F211AB
Thu 14-Sep-2017 - 28-Sep-2017 weekly at 10-12, Arvo, F211AB
Exam
Fri 13-Oct-2017 at 9.00-12.00, F211AB, Course Exam
Fri 1-Dec-2017 at 9.00-12.00, F213, Course Exam retake
Exercises
Practicals Group 1 / IPPE
Thu 7-Sep-2017 at 12-14, Arvo, B341
Tue 12-Sep-2017 at 13-15, Arvo, A312
Wed 20-Sep-2017 - 4-Oct-2017 weekly at 9-11, Arvo, A312
Fri 22-Sep-2017 - 6-Oct-2017 weekly at 9-11, Arvo, A312
Exceptions:
6-Oct-2017 at 9 –11 , Arvo, B341, Note the change of the clasroom!!
Practicals Group 2 / PGH
Wed 13-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Fri 15-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Wed 20-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Fri 22-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Wed 27-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Fri 29-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Wed 4-Oct-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Fri 6-Oct-2017 at 12-14, RH A312
Practicals Group 3 / PGH
Wed 13-Sep-2017 at 14-16, RH B341
Fri 15-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH B341
Wed 20-Sep-2017 at 14-16, RH B240, Note exceptional classroom!
Fri 22-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH B341
Wed 27-Sep-2017 at 14-16, RH B341
Fri 29-Sep-2017 at 12-14, RH B240, Note exceptional classroom!
Wed 4-Oct-2017 at 14-16, RH B341
Fri 6-Oct-2017 at 12-14, RH B341