x !
Archived teaching schedules 2017–2018
You are browsing archived teaching schedule. Current teaching schedules can be found here.
DPIPEM01 Epidemiologic methods 10 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period III Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Postgraduate studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
International Doctoral Programme in Epidemiology
Common Core Studies/LTL
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

After completing this course, the student will understand the fundamental concepts and methods in epidemiologic research and will be able to assess the quality of epidemiologic studies.

General description

Intermediate course in practical aspects of study design and application of epidemiologic methods.

The course covers fundamental concepts and methods in epidemiologic research, including planning and conducting epidemiologic studies, design strategies, disease occurrence and exposure measurement, statistical associations, bias, confounding, effect modification, causality, and different epidemiological study designs.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Teachers

Pekka Nuorti, Teacher responsible
Pekka.Nuorti[ät]uta.fi
Tarja Kinnunen, Teacher
Tarja.I.Kinnunen[ät]uta.fi

Teaching

24-Oct-2017 – 15-Dec-2017
Lectures
Tue 24-Oct-2017 - 12-Dec-2017 weekly at 10-12, A313
Thu 26-Oct-2017 - 14-Dec-2017 weekly at 10-12, A313
Exercises
Practicals
Wed 1-Nov-2017 - 13-Dec-2017 weekly at 9-11, A312, No practicals at December 6. Moved to December 4.
Exceptions:
4-Dec-2017 at 13 –15 , A312, substitute to December 6.
Fri 3-Nov-2017 at 9-11, B341
Fri 10-Nov-2017 at 9-11, A312
Fri 17-Nov-2017 at 9-11, A312
Fri 24-Nov-2017 at 9-11, B341
Thu 30-Nov-2017 at 13-15, A311
Fri 8-Dec-2017 at 9-11, B341
Fri 15-Dec-2017 at 9-11, A312

Evaluation

Numeric 1-5.

Further information

Prerequisites Previous knowledge about basic epidemiological concepts and methods.