x !
Archived teaching schedules 2017–2018
You are browsing archived teaching schedule. Current teaching schedules can be found here.
MEDU08 Project Studies 10 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period II Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Advanced studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
Master's Degree Programme in Media Education
Media Education
Faculty of Communication Sciences

Learning outcomes

Students understand the complexity of pedagogic phenomenon and theoretical challenges in their personal research-based project on media literacies. Students master the research-based touch in their practical work.

General description

Students in Media Education programme will participate in SOMEJAM2018 project. The Project Studies module includes participation in the meetings, excursion to Helsinki, taking part in the All Youth event and SOMEJAM intensive weekend in April.

SOMEJAM2016 Tampere is an intensive weekend event in 13-15 April 2018. Students will work together with young people, youth workers and with students of various fields of study.

The course offers a media educational perspective to the participants in a real youth work at the City of Tampere. Somejam kicks off on Friday evening. Multi-talent teams have time from Friday to Sunday (meetings during daytime) to create new concepts in the form of apps, games or web services for youths with the help of team mentors who are top specialists in new technology.

Get to know the Hackathon better, please see Somejam Tampere 2016:

https://www.somejam.fi/tampere/

Organizing partners: University of Tampere, Verke - the National Center for Digital Youth Work in Finland and Tampere City Youth Service

Teachers

Sirkku Kotilainen, Teacher responsible
Sirkku.Kotilainen[├Ąt]uta.fi

Teaching

9-Jan-2018 – 31-May-2018
Tutorials
Independent work
Seminar
Mon 4-Dec-2017 at 12.30-13.30, PINNI B2078, Kick off meeting for SOMEJAM2018 project
Tue 9-Jan-2018 at 14-16, Main building Meeting room 6 (D216)
Tue 16-Jan-2018 at 9-15.30, event ALL-YOUTH , Lecture hall A1, You can choose your time for participation!, See more: https://twitter.com/AllYouthKaikki, https://www.instagram.com/kaikkinuoret/
Mon 22-Jan-2018, Helsinki tour for visiting media education organizations, Whole day trip
Tue 23-Jan-2018 at 14-16, Main building meeting room 6 (D216)
Tue 30-Jan-2018 at 14-16, Main building Meeting room 6 (D216)
Tue 6-Feb-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3108
Fri 9-Feb-2018 at 12-14, PinniB2078
Tue 13-Feb-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 20-Feb-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 6-Mar-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 13-Mar-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 20-Mar-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 27-Mar-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109
Tue 10-Apr-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3112
Fri 13-Apr-2018 at 9-18, at 9-11 Pinni B1097, at 12-18 working in groups, On 14.-15.4. event takes place in Youth Centre
Tue 17-Apr-2018 at 14-16, Pinni B3109, Reflection session of SOMEJAM

Further information

Only available for students in Media Education programme