x !
Arkistoitu opetusohjelma 2017–2018
Selaat vanhentunutta opetusohjelmaa. Voimassa olevan opetusohjelman löydät täältä.
PGHES02 Migration and Health 5 ECTS
Implementation is also a part of open university teaching
Periods
Period I Period II Period II Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Basic studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
Faculty of Social Sciences

Learning outcomes

After successful completion of the course, a student
- is able to distinguish forms of migration as well as main forces behind migration
- appraises the multiple dynamics between migration and health
- is able to analyze multicultural encounters within health care
- critically assesses the global health work crisis and related mitigation strategies
- has developed skills to think and act out of the box

General description

Forced and voluntary forms of migration are current and challenging issues in an increasingly globalized world. Various crises force people to leave their homelands as refugees. Polarizing social conditions in Central Africa and the Middle East feed into the migration crises we are seeing in the Mediterranean region. Migration has its own demographics which may affect the health of the migrant in many ways, both short and long term. Also multicultural encounters within health care are explored in this course. The migration of health workers redistributes skilled health professionals and contributes to health-related disparities. The course analyses the dynamics of the global health work crisis and investigates mitigation strategies, such as skills transfer and local capacity building.

Enrolment for University Studies

Enrolment time has expired

Enrolment for Open University Studies

Teachers

Mikko Perkiö, Teacher responsible
Mikko.Perkio[ät]uta.fi

Teaching

8-Jan-2018 – 28-Feb-2018
Lectures 18 hours
LECTURES (in room F212)
Mon 8-Jan-2018 at 10-12
Mon 15-Jan-2018 at 10-12
Mon 22-Jan-2018 at 10-12
Mon 29-Jan-2018 at 9-11, Note! Exceptional time!
Mon 5-Feb-2018 at 10-12
Mon 12-Feb-2018 at 10-12
Fri 16-Feb-2018 at 12-14, Note! Exceptional time!
Mon 19-Feb-2018 at 10-12
Tue 27-Feb-2018 at 10-12, International guest lecturer.
Group work 12 hours + 20 hours Web-based
PBL Group 1
Wed 17-Jan-2018 at 9-11, F217
Wed 24-Jan-2018 at 12-14, F212
Wed 31-Jan-2018 at 12-14, F212
Wed 7-Feb-2018 at 12-14, F212
PBL Group 2
Wed 17-Jan-2018 at 9-11, B241
Wed 24-Jan-2018 at 12-14, F213
Wed 31-Jan-2018 at 12-14, F213
Wed 7-Feb-2018 at 12-14, F213
GROUP WORK I
Wed 14-Feb-2018 at 12-14, F213
Wed 21-Feb-2018 at 12-14, F212
GROUP WORK II
Wed 14-Feb-2018 at 12-14, B342
Wed 21-Feb-2018 at 12-14, B342
EXAM
Fri 23-Feb-2018 at 12-14, F212, EXAM
Wed 28-Mar-2018 at 15-17, F206, Exam Retake

Further information

The course is offered every other year.