x !
Arkistoitu opetusohjelma 2012–2013
Selaat vanhentunutta opetusohjelmaa. Voimassa olevan opetusohjelman löydät täältä.
STYP3 Global, Local and Communities in Social Work -STYP3B Social Work in Different Social Contexts, Lectures 2 ECTS
Periods
Period I Period II Period III Period IV
Language of instruction
English
Type or level of studies
Basic studies
Course unit descriptions in the curriculum
Sosiaalityön tutkinto-ohjelma
Sosiaalityö
School of Social Sciences and Humanities

Learning outcomes

The student perceives social work as a phenomena consisting of both local and global pursuits and action. The student is aware of the cultural and societal differences between social work environments and approaches, and can identify his or her own location in relation to them.

General description

Aim: To provide students with basic understanding about different perspectives to social work activity in different social contexts, as well as regarding the relationship between local and global in social work.

 Form of Educ. Lecture seminars, readings and assignments given by the teachers.

 Target group: Undergraduate students

 Language: English

 Study materials: Articles delivered and materials designed by the teachers.

 Mode of studying: Active participation in at least 75% of lecture seminars, readings and assignments.

 Completion: Active participation in the lecture seminar and accomplishment of the tasks given. Participation in the introductory lecture is necessary, because the information about the course and tasks will be given by the teacher. Students write a reflective essay (3-4 pages, in English or in Finnish) on their cultural identity.

 Course coordination. Kaisa-Elina Kiuru.

 Feedback: Written feedback from students in English or in Finnish.

 Reading assignments: Informed by the teacher in the beginning of the course.

The themes of the course are: Social work in India and Lithuania, Children, women and social work in Africa, Peace, war and social work, and Health and social work in Russia.  The lecture themes can partly be changed before the course starts.

Lecture room: Pinni B3107

Notice exception: Tue 20 Nov at 12-14 lecture room is Pinni A1078

Social Work in Different Social Contexts, autumn term 2012

“Social work in Algeria, England, Estonia, India, Mozambique and Tanzania.”

Mon 22 Oct at 12-14 Kaisa-Elina Kiuru, introductory lecture, Ph.D. ,University of Tampere    

Tue 23 Oct at 12-14 Social work in India, Dr. Satu Ranta-Tyrkkö, University of Tampere

Wed 24 Oct at 12-14  Social work in India, Dr. Satu Ranta-Tyrkkö,

Thu 25 Oct at 16 “Daughters in Shatila”, Tampere City library Metso, Martikainen-room , http://www.bravegirlsofshatila.com/, http://www.globaalisosiaalityo.org/Ajankohtaista.php

Mon 29 Oct at 12-14 The participation of the lecturer is cancelled. No lecture will be given this day.

Tue 30 Oct at 12-14 The participation of the lecturer is cancelled. No lecture will be given this day.

Wed 31 Oct at 12-14 The participation of the lecturer is cancelled. No lecture will be given this day.

Mon 5 Nov at 12 -14 Social work in England, Dr.  Paul Stepney, Docent in Social Work, Univ.  of Tampere

Tue 6 Nov at 12-14  Social work in England, Dr.  Paul Stepney

Wed 7 Nov at 12-14 Social work in England, Dr.  Paul Stepney

Mon 12 Nov at 12-14 Social work, social problems and societal structures in Algeria, Karim Maiche, Ph.D.,University of Tampere

Tue 13 Nov at 12-14 Social work, social problems and societal structures in Algeria, Karim Maiche, Ph.D.

Wed 14 Nov at 12-14 Social work, social problems and societal structures in Algeria, Karim Maiche, Ph.D.

Mon 19 Nov at 12-14 Community based social work in Mozambique, Armindo Vasco, social worker, Mozambique

Tue 20 Nov at 12-14 Community based social work in Mozambique, Armindo Vasco. Lecture room is Pinni A1078

Wed 21 Nov at 12-14 Counseling Battered Women in Mwanza, Tanzania. Research and client work perspective.

Regina Opoku, Ph.D.,University of Tampere.

Mon 26 Nov at 12-14 Social work tasks in practice, in politics, and in society in Estonian context, Dr. Marju Medar, University of Tallinn

Tue 27 Nov at 12-14  Social work profession in Estonia, Dr. Tiia Tamm University of Tallinn

Wed 28 Nov at 12-14 Social problems and social work in Estonia, Koidu Saia, Ph.D., University of Tallinn

 

 


Teachers

Kaisa-Elina Kiuru/ University of Tampere, Teacher responsible
kaisa-elina.kiuru[ät]uta.fi
Satu Ranta-Tyrkkö/ University of Tampere, Teacher
satu.ranta-tyrkko[ät]uta.fi

Teaching

22-Oct-2012 – 28-Nov-2012
Lectures
Introductory lectures, Kaisa-Elina Kiuru and Social work in India, Satu Ranta-Tyrkkö
Mon 22-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 23-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Wed 24-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Mon 29-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 30-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Wed 31-Oct-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Mon 5-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 6-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Wed 7-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Mon 12-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 13-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Wed 14-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Mon 19-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 20-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. A1078
Wed 21-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Mon 26-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Tue 27-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Wed 28-Nov-2012 at 12-14, Pinni ls. B3107
Independent work
Group work

Study materials

 To be announced later.