x !
Archived Curricula Guide 2015–2017
Curricula Guide is archieved. Please refer to current Curricula Guides
Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences

The aim of the Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences is to offer education in research that provides diversified skills for working in demanding specialist and research duties. Postgraduate studies enhance general theoretical and methodological skills, train students to work in multidisciplinary research groups and develop their ethical and practical working life skills. A graduate of the doctoral programme

  • knows the theories and the methods of his or her own discipline exceedingly well
  • has a broad knowledge of social research and its issues, and
  • can evaluate the significance of the various research approaches and methods.

The Doctoral Programme in Social Sciences includes the following disciplines:

  • Social Anthropology
  • Social Policy
  • Social Psychology
  • Social Work
  • Sociology
  • Gender Studies and
  • The research field of Peace and Conflict Studies.

Learn more: http://www.uta.fi/yky/en/doctoralstudies/curricula/social.html

Learning Outcomes

According to the Government Decree on University Degrees (794/2004, amended 1039/2013, §21) the objectives of scientific postgraduate education are that the student

  1. becomes thoroughly acquainted with his or her own field of research and its social significance
  2. gains the knowledge and skills needed to apply scientific research methods independently and critically and to produce new scientific knowledge within his or her field of research
  3. becomes acquainted with the development, basic problems and research methods of his or her field of research
  4. gains such knowledge of the general theory of science and of other disciplines relating to his or her own field of research as enables him or her to follow their development
  5. achieves sufficient language and communication skills and other abilities to work as an expert or a developer in demanding positions and within international cooperation.
School of Social Sciences and Humanities